Being my second time to Paris, also in January, I was as little prepared to speak French as I was before. Having never studied it at school, I don't put on the accent and know little to nothing, so even when I try to speak any sort of French, they speak back to me in English straight away, which I guess is better than staring at them incomprehensibly. (I'll let you know how my German goes in Germany, at least I can construct a simple sentence in German).
A lot of our time in Paris was spent inside museums/cultural attractions, which is good because it is cold outside but bad because going to a great deal of museums mean sore feet and shoulders and constantly looking, but not touching. Almost a kind of sensory deprivation for being in a new place.
We took a day trip out to Versailles, where it was very very cold, so cold in fact that the fountains had frozen, even the big fountains, (there were actually people walking on the ice too - I am definitely not that brave!)
I enjoyed my time there and greatly enjoyed the food, (wine, duck, cheese, pastries - ooh la la). Mandatorily got lost on the Metro and pretty much acted like an ignorant tourist.
C'est la vie.


